Juan-Manuel Fangio, Emerson Fittipaldi, Nelson Piquet and Ayrton Senna: This quartet of South American Formula 1 legends have won no less than 13 world championships between them, and collectively represent a continent that is absolutely motorsport mad. South Americans are passionate about motorsport, the region having contributed to international motorsport since the very beginning.

The Argentine Grand Prix appeared on the Formula 1 calendar 21 times from 1953 onwards, while the country's northerly neighbour Brazil has hosted Formula 1 non-stop since 1973, mainly at Interlagos in Sao Paulo, but Rio de Janeiro also staged numerous grands prix. For decades innumerable young drivers have followed in the footsteps of their idols, with not a few managing the leap onto the big stage.